, Guest!
Already a Member? Login or Register.

Menu



Showcase


Due to the volume of spam happening on our forums, posting is now restricted to verified members only.  If you're not verified, drop us a note with your username.

Home > FlexCMS Support Forum > User Help > General Support Requests > Install.php error message

FlexCMS Support Forum


Install.php error message
Started April 6, 2005 @ 9:40am by Guest
Post Message 
Pages:  [1]  2  

Guest
 
Install.php error messageApril 6, 2005 @ 9:40am
When install.php runs it comes up with the following :-

==============================
License data could not be located for this site. Please verify that you've created a license for this site and that it is valid, or for a sponsored license that you are connected to the internet. If you believe this to be in error or require assistance, please contact us or visit the documentation and support forums available at http://www.flexcms.com
==============================

FAQ's definately state FlexCMS can be tested like this. HowUndecided ????
 
otter
Administrator



Posts: 177
 
April 6, 2005 @ 10:33am
Hi Gordon,

Sorry to hear you are having problems with your local install.

FlexCMS was made to use on the web, but we have had people including our own staff successfully install and run it on their local computer. However we do not guarantee it will work on every PC.

Have you checked the FlexCMS server requirements to make sure you meet them?

If your server does meet the minimum requirements, it could be a DNS issue, problem with sockets and/or an internet connection issue on your end as well.

If you email us your PHP INFO, we'll take a look to see if there is anything there that may be causing the problem and try to assist you as much as possible.

If all else fails, we recommend you login to our demo site (demo.flexcms.com) to "play" with FlexCMS or install it in a subfolder on a live website.

Thanks!

otter


ONLINE TRAINING CLASSES FOR FLEXCMS IN MAY: FlexCMS Basics (101), Sat., May, 15, 2010 & FlexCMS Blocks (Mon., May 10, 2010).
 
Guest
 
Tried but failedApril 6, 2005 @ 11:25am
Using broadband, WinXp Pro, Apache, PHP

FTP'd to a dummy folder on my web site.

Ran install using an existing database with table prefix FLEX_

All OK until login when install.php/login could not be found.

Opened the site and tried to log in - again faile - something about login submit couldn't be found.

Have given up, deleted the files and dropped the tables from the database.

=======================

Notice the original error message on my local PC spoke about "have you created a licence file". What's that all about ? How does one create it ?

Have tried out various CMS systems on this machine and have never had any problems, so I don't think it;'s a local problem.

Any ideas ?
 

Last Edit: April 6, 2005 @ 11:32am by Guest
otter
Administrator



Posts: 177
 
April 6, 2005 @ 12:18pm
Gordon,

As for your install in a dummy folder on the web. I believe the problem you had there can be fixed by following the
information in this topic:

http://www.flexcms.com/index.php/forum/thread/36.html

I would suggest a fresh install of FlexCMS into the dummy folder again. Then fix the above as mentioned. If you receive any errors, please let us know exactly what they are and keep the site up so we can take a look as well. We've been able to solve most problems people have had as long as they leave the install up on their site so we can review.

As for your local not working, I do not know what to tell you. I don't know of anyone specifically using WinXP Pro that has tried to install FlexCMS locally, so that might be a problem. I do know that we've had successful local installs on both Win2000 and Win98SE. Please note, we do state in our Requirements: "Compatibility with Windows has had only limited testing, and any other platforms are unknown at this point."

Also, I noticed you didn't list the exact versions of Apache, PHP or MySQL on your local machine, but as long as you meet the minimum requirements as previously noted, that should not be the problem. It may just be that WinXP Pro is the issue.

As for creating a license, it looks like you have done that under your id at FlexCMS. But basically, this is what you need to do to create a license:

To create a new license, simply login to your FlexCMS account (http://www.FlexCMS.com). Then under the Clients menu block, you'll see a hyperlink that says Manage Licenses. Click on that link and you'll see your Manage License(s) area. At the bottom of that page you'll see:

Create a New Site:

Simply fill in the info requested and click on the Create Site button and you are done.

If you are still interested in getting FlexCMS installed on the web, please update us once you have completed the new install and updated the line in index.php as mentioned above and we'll be happy to assist you further.

Thanks!

otter


ONLINE TRAINING CLASSES FOR FLEXCMS IN MAY: FlexCMS Basics (101), Sat., May, 15, 2010 & FlexCMS Blocks (Mon., May 10, 2010).
 
Guest
 
OK - will doApril 6, 2005 @ 5:10pm
Thanks for the info
 
jacmgr


Posts: 18
 
April 7, 2005 @ 2:55pm
I have just finished the 1.3 install on windowXP PRO. (XP does not have a server, only PRO). I can get to the opening page of the default site at this local server url. ( I never tried 1.2 locally)

http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php

But any menu choice takes me to, lets say I choose "HOME" then the URL becomes:

http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php/index.html

or say the privacy policy

http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php/pages/privacy.html

None of them work. Only the first one I mentioned to open a home page.

Any idea? I will email a phpinfo file. If I get past this I think I willl have a local install.
 
otter
Administrator



Posts: 177
 
April 7, 2005 @ 3:08pm
Hi Jacmgr,

Just to make sure we're on the same page here (no pun intended) are you saying that any link you select off your FlexCMS menu block, displays the correct url, but errors off as in gives you this message when you are taken to that particular page:

Quote

Error Displaying Page

We're sorry, but the requested page or function either could not be located, has passed or not yet started its viewing period, or your permissions are not sufficient to view it. Please go back and try again, and contact the webmaster if you believe this to be in error.

Or are you not being redirected anywhere at all?

If any of the above is true, have you checked the root directory you installed FlexCMS at and see if the actual pages are in fact listed in the folder?

Please update and will assist you further.

Thanks!

otter


ONLINE TRAINING CLASSES FOR FLEXCMS IN MAY: FlexCMS Basics (101), Sat., May, 15, 2010 & FlexCMS Blocks (Mon., May 10, 2010).
 
jacmgr


Posts: 18
 
April 7, 2005 @ 3:26pm
http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php

will start the opening page of cms.

Then from a block menu I select, say privacy policy and I recieve that 404 error you quoted above. What is in the address bar is:
http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php/pages/privacy.html

or I click home and the same thing happens.
http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php/index.html

Now I checked the diredctories and there is no "pages" folder, and there is NO index.html.

hmmmmmmm........

That is the error I recieve.
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
April 7, 2005 @ 3:42pm
Hi jacmgr!

Sorry to hear you're having problems using FlexCMS. Since it's a local installation, there's only so much we can do because we can't actually get in there and adjust files or look at things, but we'll see if we can suggest a few things for you to try.

First, at the risk of going in circles, I need to have you clarify the error message you're receiving. Is it the FlexCMS error message, displayed in the FlexCMS blocks and template looking site? Or is it a server error on a blank page telling you it can't find the file?

And no, there should not be a 'pages' folder or 'index.html' file. These are just names FlexCMS uses to retrieve content from the database.


Thanks,
David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 

Last Edit: April 7, 2005 @ 3:43pm by DCSun
jacmgr


Posts: 18
 
April 7, 2005 @ 3:53pm
I am very sorry for being unclear and giving the wrong info!!

The error is NOT FROM FLEX. It is from server:


Code

The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.
----------------------------------------HTTP 404 - File not found
Internet Explorer


Thankx and sorry.
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
April 7, 2005 @ 4:06pm
Not a problem. That's what I expected the issue to be. Unfortunately your server is taking the slashes in the query string too litterally and actually going and looking for a pages folder and index.html file!

Just for fun, try hitting http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php?pages/privacy.html (notice the question mark after index.php instead of a slash) and see what you get.


David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 

Last Edit: April 8, 2005 @ 5:43pm by DCSun
jacmgr


Posts: 18
 
April 7, 2005 @ 4:13pm
Right...I did try that just for fun right before I read your latest response and the error diplayed is the FLEXCMS error message you first quoted.
----
Home

Error Displaying Page

We're sorry, but the requested page or function either could not be located, has passed or not yet started its viewing period, or your permissions are not sufficient to view it. Please go back and try again, and contact the webmaster if you believe this to be in error
----
http://127.0.0.1:8080/vrow/flex/index.php?pages/privacy.html

So I also tried ?pages=privacy.html (just for fun.. it was fun...) That did not give the error and simply took me back to the FLEXcms WELCOME PAGE.
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
April 7, 2005 @ 4:33pm
I have a solution to your problem (I think, it worked here when I tried to duplicate your problem), however it will modify FlexCMS past its normal behavior and therefore will not be supported in the same way FlexCMS normally would be. You've been warned. So there! Tongue

Please note, this modification was intended for FlexCMS version 1.3. If you are not currently using that version, we suggest you first upgrade to it to see if your problems are solved. If they persist, then proceed with the changes outlined below.

Ok, for the fix. Open up your index.php file and on line 84 should be this:
Code

list ($LocationPath, $QSData) = explode('/'.$Settings['ScriptName'], $QS, 2);

replace it with this:
Code

list ($LocationPath, $QSData) = explode('?', $QS, 2);


That should make it capable of using the query string even though your server is not treating it like it normally should. Then, up on line 27 (should be an open space), add this:
Code

$Settings['ScriptName'] .= '?';


Also: You'll need to update your contact and contact-submit pages to function with the modifications above. You can find the updated code here: http://www.flexcms.com/index.php/forum/4/8/1.html


And you should be all set. Be sure to post back here and let us know how it worked out.


David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 

Last Edit: April 13, 2005 @ 3:24pm by DCSun
jacmgr


Posts: 18
 
April 7, 2005 @ 4:50pm
Seems to be working great now!! You guys/gals rock!

I've tried about 10 different free CMS's this week. Yours is by far the cleanest integration of desired tools there is. All 10 of those had install problems with no one to ask questions to!!

BTW, I had no problem at all with the install on the internet host. AND NOW it is running on my XPpro localhost so I can adjust my pages offline and when I am ready, then put the good stuff on my host.

THANKYOU...THANKYOU....
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
April 7, 2005 @ 4:58pm
Excellent! Glad to hear you got it working! :D

We take great pride in not only making it work, but also in supporting our clients when it doesn't.

Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to working with you in the future.


David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 
Guest
 
Me againApril 8, 2005 @ 4:49pm
Successful installation at last !

I tried both your suggestio to me, and the other suggestions on this thread. None work.

If I click the HOME link I get a page url :- http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/index.html

If I click the Contact us link I get page url :-
http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/pages/contact.html

If I click the privacy policy link I get page url :-
http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/pages/privacy.html

If I click the Management logon link I get page url :-
http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/login.html

NONE OF WHICH CAN BE FOUND - basically as there IS no folder called pages !

Gordon
 
Guest
 
CMS'sApril 8, 2005 @ 4:50pm

Quote (jacmgr)

Seems to be working great now!! You guys/gals rock!

I've tried about 10 different free CMS's this week. Yours is by far the cleanest integration of desired tools there is. All 10 of those had install problems with no one to ask questions to!!

BTW, I had no problem at all with the install on the internet host. AND NOW it is running on my XPpro localhost so I can adjust my pages offline and when I am ready, then put the good stuff on my host.

THANKYOU...THANKYOU....


Have you tried out [removed] yet ? Not bad. Gordon.

-- Admin Edit: Please, no plugs for other CMS packages here. Thanks.
 

Last Edit: April 8, 2005 @ 5:37pm by DCSun
Guest
 
Version ?April 8, 2005 @ 4:52pm
Otter, notice other user has v 1.3 whereas I have v 1.2 - is this the problem ? Is v 1.3 available - or is it not the free version ?

Gordon.
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
April 8, 2005 @ 5:36pm

Quote ()

Successful installation at last !

I tried both your suggestio to me, and the other suggestions on this thread. None work.

If I click the HOME link I get a page url :- http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/index.html

If I click the Contact us link I get page url :-
http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/pages/contact.html

If I click the privacy policy link I get page url :-
http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/pages/privacy.html

If I click the Management logon link I get page url :-
http://www.gbtamc.co.uk/test/index.php/login.html

NONE OF WHICH CAN BE FOUND - basically as there IS no folder called pages !

Gordon


Gordon,

You do appear to be having the same problem as jacmgr was, so I would suggest you try the modifications above. Also, as noted in a previous post above, there is no 'pages' folder or .html files, nor should there be.

In regards to your other post, yes, version 1.3 is now available for download. We do still offer a free version of it the same as before.


David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 
Guest
 
April 9, 2005 @ 3:55am

Quote ()


Quote (jacmgr)

Seems to be working great now!! You guys/gals rock!

I've tried about 10 different free CMS's this week. Yours is by far the cleanest integration of desired tools there is. All 10 of those had install problems with no one to ask questions to!!

BTW, I had no problem at all with the install on the internet host. AND NOW it is running on my XPpro localhost so I can adjust my pages offline and when I am ready, then put the good stuff on my host.

THANKYOU...THANKYOU....


Have you tried out [removed] yet ? Not bad. Gordon.

-- Admin Edit: Please, no plugs for other CMS packages here. Thanks.




OOOooppppppssssss !!!!!1
Sorry. It wasn't a plug, just an enquiry !
 

Pages:  [1]  2  

Post Message 




Try & Buy FeedForAll - Easy to use RSS Feed Creator - great for iTunes users!

MEMBERS




All Contents, Code, Scripts and Technologies Copyright 2003-2009 FlexCMS.
All Rights Reserved. Software License Agreement

Processing Time: 0.08557 seconds.
 
Management Login

Powered By FlexCMS
Powered By FlexCMS