, Guest!
Already a Member? Login or Register.

Menu



Showcase


Due to the volume of spam happening on our forums, posting is now restricted to verified members only.  If you're not verified, drop us a note with your username.

Home > FlexCMS Support Forum > User Help > Code Snippets > Today's Event Block

FlexCMS Support Forum


Today's Event Block
Started April 25, 2005 @ 5:03pm by otter
Post Message 
otter
Administrator



Posts: 177
 
Today's Event BlockApril 25, 2005 @ 5:03pm
Ever want to list today's events in a block on your FlexCMS site? Here's how you do that:

1) Create a new block

2) Block Title: Today's Events

3) Cut and paste the following code into the Custom Block Contents area:


Code

$TZO = (($Settings['TimezoneOffset']+5)*3600);


$DateSplit = getdate();
$DayTimestamp = mktime(0,0,0,$DateSplit['mon'],$DateSplit['mday'],$DateSplit['year']);


$query55 = "select * from `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates` where DateCode>=".($DayTimestamp+$TZO)." and DateCode<".($DayTimestamp+86400+$TZO)." order by DateCode asc";
$result55 = mysql_query($query55) or die (mysql_error());
if (mysql_num_rows($result55) > 0) {

while ($row55 = mysql_fetch_array($result55)) {

$query5 = "select * from `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-Events` where RecordNumber='".$row55['EventID']."' and MinLevel<='".$UserLevel."' limit 1";
$result5 = mysql_query($query5) or die (mysql_error());
if (mysql_num_rows($result5) > 0) {
$row5 = mysql_fetch_array($result5);

print '<img src="'.$ImagesURL.'/spacer.gif" width="1" height="5" alt="" border="0"><br>';


print '<a href="'.$MainURL.'/calendar/details/'.$row5['RecordNumber'].'.html">'.$row5['Title'].'</a>';


if ($row5['StartTime'] >= 0) {

$Hours = 0;
$Minutes = 0;

$Seconds = $row5['StartTime'];
while ($Seconds >= 3600) {
$Seconds = $Seconds - 3600;
$Hours++;
}
while ($Seconds >= 60) {
$Seconds = $Seconds - 60;
$Minutes++;
}


$Suffix = 'am';
if ($Hours >= 12) {
$Hours -= 12;
$Suffix = 'pm';
}
if ($Hours == 0) {
$Hours = 12;
}

if ($Minutes < 10) {
$Minutes = '0' . $Minutes;
}

$TimePrint = $Hours . ':' . $Minutes . $Suffix;

//if ($row55['EndTime'] >= 0 && $row55['EndTime'] > $row55['StartTime']) {
if ($row5['EndTime'] >= 0) {

$Hours = 0;
$Minutes = 0;

$Seconds = $row5['EndTime'];
while ($Seconds >= 3600) {
$Seconds = $Seconds - 3600;
$Hours++;
}
while ($Seconds >= 60) {
$Seconds = $Seconds - 60;
$Minutes++;
}


$Suffix = 'am';
if ($Hours >= 12) {
$Hours -= 12;
$Suffix = 'pm';
}
if ($Hours == 0) {
$Hours = 12;
}

if ($Minutes < 10) {
$Minutes = '0' . $Minutes;
}

$TimePrint .= ' - ' . $Hours . ':' . $Minutes . $Suffix;

}

}
else {
$TimePrint = '';
}


if ($TimePrint != '') {
print ' <font size="1">('.$TimePrint.')<br></font>';
}
else {
print '<br>';
}


print '<img src="'.$ImagesURL.'/spacer.gif" width="1" height="5" alt="" border="0"><br>';


$EventsPrinted++;

}

}

}

if ($EventsPrinted < 1) {

print '<br>[No Events Today]<br>?';

}


4) Check the box next to Process PHP Code?

5) Save your block.

And that's it! Your block should look something similiar to this:




ONLINE TRAINING CLASSES FOR FLEXCMS IN MAY: FlexCMS Basics (101), Sat., May, 15, 2010 & FlexCMS Blocks (Mon., May 10, 2010).
 

Last Edit: April 25, 2005 @ 5:04pm by otter
jacmgr


Posts: 18
 
May 6, 2005 @ 9:18pm
Works great! Is there a simple way to modify this so that I can get a list of events for more than just today. Suppose I want all events from now to a variable "numberofdays" from now?

john
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
May 6, 2005 @ 11:39pm
John,

Yes, you can modify the query to do whatever you want it to! This line near the top
Code

$query55 = "select * from `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates` where DateCode>=".($DayTimestamp+$TZO)." and DateCode<".($DayTimestamp+86400+$TZO)." order by DateCode asc";
controls what the date range is. If you wanted it to be the next three days, you could do
Code

$query55 = "select * from `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates` where DateCode>=".($DayTimestamp+$TZO)." and DateCode<".($DayTimestamp+(86400*3)+$TZO)." order by DateCode asc";
or
Code

$query55 = "select * from `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates` where DateCode>=".($DayTimestamp+$TZO)." and DateCode<".($DayTimestamp+(86400*7)+$TZO)." order by DateCode asc";
would make it the next seven (notice the 86400*x).

If you need any more help simply reply here and we'll be happy to give you a hand.


David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 
cberks


Posts: 63
 
SORTING EVENTS BY STARTTIME WITHIN DATEDecember 15, 2006 @ 9:39am
This code snippet does not sort the events by starttime within a date -- how would we do that?

Regards, Chris
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
December 15, 2006 @ 11:59am
Hi Chris,

Yes, the start time is stored with the details of event, rather than with the dates (two separate tables).

To sort it by start times as well, the two need to be joined in the MySQL query.

Something like this should do the trick:

Code

$query55 = "select `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.RecordNumber,`".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.DateCode,`".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.EventID from `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates` left join `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-Events` on `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.EventID=`".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-Events`.RecordNumber where `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.DateCode>=".($DayTimestamp+$TZO)." and `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.DateCode<".($DayTimestamp+(86400*7)+$TZO)." order by `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-EventDates`.DateCode asc, `".$Settings['DBPrefix']."cl-Events`.StartTime asc";



David


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 
roadie02h


Posts: 27
 
November 25, 2010 @ 1:16pm
This is awsome... One more request. I have included all this code so my events are now sorted and showing 5-days out. How do we now display the "day" tag as a seperator from day to day in the block so all the events don't just run together but are also sorted by date and then time with "day tags?? I'm starting to like this cms.Smile


why sleep when I can work...
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
November 25, 2010 @ 5:37pm
Add this:

Code

if ($LastDay != $row55['DateCode']) {
if ($LastDay != '') {
print '<img src="'.$ImagesURL.'/spacer.gif" width="1" height="15" alt="" border="0"><br>';
}

print '<b>'.date('l, F j', $row55['DateCode']).'</b><br><img src="'.$ImagesURL.'/spacer.gif" width="1" height="5" alt="" border="0"><br>';
$LastDay = $row55['DateCode'];
}


before this line:

Code

print '<a href="'.$MainURL.'/calendar/details/'.$row5['RecordNumber'].'.html">'.$row5['Title'].'</a>';



Dave


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 
roadie02h


Posts: 27
 
November 26, 2010 @ 12:52am
Perfect! That did the trick. Formatted the type and added a <hr> and I am good to go!
Thanks Dave.


why sleep when I can work...
 
DCSun
Administrator



Posts: 625
 
November 26, 2010 @ 10:18am
You can also adjust the date portion by changing this: "l, F j", you can see what they all mean here: http://ca.php.net/manual/en/function.date.php

Dave


FlexCMS v3.2 Has Been Released!
 

Post Message 




Try & Buy FeedForAll - Easy to use RSS Feed Creator - great for iTunes users!

MEMBERS




All Contents, Code, Scripts and Technologies Copyright 2003-2009 FlexCMS.
All Rights Reserved. Software License Agreement

Processing Time: 0.07092 seconds.
 
Management Login

Powered By FlexCMS
Powered By FlexCMS